Our threesome

For the first time me and my girls biked together. Together should probably be said loosely 🙂

This is what actually happened. Lydia, my youngest, with the music playing on her bike, brought up the rear of the group…as in I couldn’t always even see her in my rearview mirror. She’s still new at biking and the trails we’ve been riding take a little more than just flat land. Today we went the farthest she’s ever gone…21 miles. I’m thankful that she made it from start to finish…eventually.

Lauren was in the lead for the most part…except when she wasn’t in the lead, when she stopped and swore she couldn’t go on…but otherwise, she was in the lead. She wasn’t feeling real awesome…so I’m thankful she finished it out.

Me…well I was some where between the girls at any given moment. I’d ride up with Lauren and then wait up for Lydia to catch up.

It was not a smooth ride for me. Not a big shock there I guess.

The good news…we all made it.

Sometimes things seem like they’ll be so much better of an idea that the reality actually is. I’m sure it will improve. Ironically enough…just when we were at a low point, a friend showed up jogging by and boosted our spirits. It was a God thing for sure.

Admittedly…I’m getting more used to biking alone and it’s far easier to keep the group together when it’s just one person 🙂

And isn’t that how life is? The more people you add, the more ideas and moods and feelings you have to deal with, the more complicated things tend to get.

How are things in your neck of the woods? Do you find that you’re having a lot of stops and starts, times of speeding up and slowing down. Makes for a rough time. But some days…I guess it’s just a victory if everyone survives the journey and makes it from start to finish 🙂 That’s how I felt today.

 

One thought on “Our threesome

Leave a comment